DIY Bump Costume: Painted Jack-O-Lantern Shirt

IMG_4361

At eight months pregnant there’s honestly not a lot of dressing up I want to do, but you’re only this pregnant on Halloween so many times, so I just had to take advantage. Since Mose is a pumpkin, I decided to dress the bump up as a pumpkin as well. This super easy DIY only took about an hour from start to finish, and cost me less than $10!

IMG_4354IMG_4358

I was honestly quite glad I made it to Halloween! After I made my pumpkin shirt I kept thinking I was going to go into labor and not have the chance to wear it. But luckily, such a thing did not happen. Three weeks to go until due date and I’m soooo excited!!!!

IMG_4256 IMG_4262

Anyway, on to the DIY. Here is what you’ll need:

  • A baby bump
  • An orange shirt (I got mine from Wal-Mart)
  • Paint brush
  • Fabric pen (a regular marker would probably work just fine as well, since you’ll paint over it anyway)
  • Black acrylic paint
  • Textile medium (can be found at Hobby Lobby)
  • Mod podge
  • Black glitter
  • A piece of cardboard or paperboard (such as a used cereal box)

IMG_4250

Mose always wants to help with my DIYs.

IMG_4252

Step 1: Try on your shirt and make marks where the eyes, ears, and mouth should go. This is important if you’re pregnant because your belly is probably not what it used to be and it’s really easy to misjudge (LOL).

IMG_4254

Step 2: Slip your cardboard or cereal box into the shirt and lay it flat. This is so the paint does not bleed through to the other side of the shirt.

IMG_4258

Step 3: Outline your jack-o-lantern face with the fabric pen. I just free-handed it, but if you’re more comfortable using a pattern there are lots of them on the internet.

IMG_4261

Step 4: Mix a few drops of textile medium into your paint. Paint the jack-o-lantern face. Let dry.

IMG_4263IMG_4265

Step 5: As soon as the black paint is dry, brush on some mod podge and then sprinkle with black glitter. Let dry then shake off any excess glitter.

IMG_4269

Step 6: Just so glitter doesn’t get everywhere when wearing it, I decided to go over the glitter layer with one more thin layer of mod podge.

IMG_4349

And voila! That’s it!

IMG_4373

And here is evidence of my excellent selfie skills with the bump. HAPPY HALLOWEEN EVERYONE!

3 thoughts on “DIY Bump Costume: Painted Jack-O-Lantern Shirt

  1. Your “bump” shirt is adorable! But then so is the precious Mommy wearing it!! Obviously pregnancy agrees with you! What’s the most recent prediction from your doc when the little guy will arrive?? Still three weeks? Love you three bunches, Nana

Leave a comment