Before and After: Craft Room (And How to Make a Beautiful Floor With Stencil)

20150824_093858

I am most pleased with my new craft room, MOST PLEASED. In fact, it is marvelous and beautiful and spacious and lovely and all kinds of other positive adjectives. The last few days of working in there have been so productive! Much better than my last craft/laundry room. 😉

I put a lot of work into this room and I am glad I did. Here is a picture of how the room looked before we moved in.

IMG_3342

Kinda creepy right? This is a half-basement room, so the subfloors are cement. The cement floors in the basement were covered with carpet glue because the last people who lived in this house abandoned it and a pipe consequently burst in the cold weather, causing water damage in the basement. The bank that overtook the house went in and tore up the carpet, as well as cutting out the bottom foot and a half of drywall, leaving a shudder-worthy basement as a result. The final result is much better.

IMG_3511

My wonderful husband installed new drywall and I then painted the walls (white because I wanted something simple, bright, and good for photos) and ceiling (light bluish, because that is the best color for ceilings). Then came the fun part: the floors.

20150824_093839

So if you’ve ever painted cement subfloors before you know it’s a big job. It requires scraping glue and dried paint, sanding, sweeping a hundred times, priming, and THEN painting. The painting part itself is actually supremely easy – easier, in fact, than painting walls. I used this tutorial over on Vintage Revivals Blog as a guide, which I highly recommend, but I will go over the basic gist of how I did it as well.

  1. I scraped all the carpet glue off the floors with a metal scraper. The tutorial suggests using laquer thinner – I went without, and though it took a long time it worked perfectly well.
  2. Next I made sure the floors were reeeaaaaally clean. This means sweeping, vacuuming, and wiping down if necessary. I did each at least three times if not more. You want your floors to be spotless.
  3. At this point I was ready to prime the floors. The paint I used (Behr Patio and Porch Paint) was not self-priming, so I simply used an all-purpose primer.
  4. After the primer dries completely (I waited a day) you’re ready to paint. I painted around the edges first and then simply poured some paint onto the floor in the far corner of the room and went at it with a roller. Took about ten minutes. Let this dry completely as well.

IMG_3512

Now that the boring part was complete, I was sooo ready to paint my pattern! I had dreamed of a patterned floor for a long time and couldn’t wait to get started. The pattern I decided on was the Asmir Triangles Wall Stencil from Royal Design Studio Stencils. Royal Design Studio has HUNDREDS of stencil patterns to choose from and I highly recommend them if you are thinking about doing any stenciling in your home!

20150806_161907

This was my first time stenciling a floor so I was very nervous to start. I think the most important thing when it comes to stenciling is to remember to keep your brush or foam roller (for floors I definitely recommend using a roller) dry – don’t let the paint be thick or dripping. After dipping the roller in paint I simply off-loaded it back onto my tray. This is called the dry paint method. I also had a paper towel handy just in case.

20150806_170733

The hardest part was letting the paint dry long enough so that I didn’t mess up the triangles as I overlaid the stencil to move onto the next square of pattern. The patio and porch paint takes a while to dry, and I am a very impatient person. Nevertheless, the entire floor only took about five hours or so to complete.

20150807_123848

While all the painting was fun, the organizing of the room was my favorite part. I love making a room as efficient as possible, and I am pretty confident that this is one of the most efficient rooms I have ever organized. I’ve got separate locations for different tasks; for instance, in one corner of the room I’ve got Paint Corner – where I do all my painting. The other wall is dedicated to fabric and sewing. Before we moved into this house I did a deep cleanse of my old craft room and categorized all of my items and tools, which made organizing this room much much easier.

IMG_3541IMG_354720150824_093817

Luckily, Mose is enjoying her new room as well! Her cage fits just perfectly under my fabric table, and I think she likes the pattern on the floors. She’s a very artistically minded bunny after all. 😉 😛 😀

IMG_3529

2 thoughts on “Before and After: Craft Room (And How to Make a Beautiful Floor With Stencil)

Leave a Reply

