Where I’ve Been Lately, Part 2: Texas and a Gender Reveal Party

At the end of June, Grant and I moseyed down to Texas to visit my family where we had a Gender Reveal Party!

gender reveal display

When we got to Texas, the ultrasound techs at my dad’s office gave me an ultrasound. It was fun to see the baby again (first time since my very first ultrasound at 8 weeks where you can’t see much), and interesting to guess what the ladies weren’t telling any of us…aka, the gender! I could have sworn it was going to be a girl based on one of their reactions…

US image, exam type "Obstetrics", preset "General"
US image, exam type “Obstetrics”, preset “General”

None of us knew going into the party. The ultrasound tech simply wrote the answer down and delivered it to our cake lady, who baked the cake based on what the answer was. 

When people arrived at the party they were instructed to take a bow based on their vote: a pink one for a girl or a blue one for a boy. The majority of people surprisingly picked boy. I adamantly stood by my guess even though everyone said I was wrong.

The party was sprinkle themed and the cake was absolutely fabulous. No one could wait for us to cut into it.

gender reveal cake

And the color inside was………..

gender reveal boy

BLUE!

gender reveal cake and us

IT’S A BOY!

It was SO much fun cutting into the cake. Even though I was rooting for a girl at the time, I cannot be more excited.

gender reveal fam

It was great getting to share this experience with my family. So glad the timing worked out just perfectly for us to do it!

Leave a Reply

