Where I’ve Been Lately, Part 1: NYC

Hey guys! I’ve been itching to get blogging again for the past several weeks, but my summer has been soooo busy that I’ve hardly had time to browse Pinterest, let alone sit down and write something interesting up! Let me take you back to the beginning of summer, where things first started getting crazy.

nyc skyline

InΒ June, I had the pleasure of visiting New York City with my mom and sister for a week. My sister is actually in the process of moving up there now, to become a famous graphic designer at Pratt Institute. We journeyed to the big city together in pursuit of an apartment for her and to get a feel for the place where she was going to live.

IMG_3189 IMG_3199 IMG_3217

I think the most striking thing about New York for me was all of the colors. Every street was brimming with it – in the form of graffiti or flowers or even architecture. There was so much to look at that by the end of the week I had a crick in my neck from all the staring upward.

IMG_3252IMG_3243

I was thrilled to get to visit the Renegade Craft Fair in Brooklyn while there. It’s one of the most renowned craft fairs in the country, so obviously I’ve been dying for a chance to go. There were so many artists and makers there, and so much inspiration to glean from them.

We also toured an amazing chocolate factory, Mast Brothers Chocolate, and got to eat a TON of samples. Yummmmm.

Even just wandering the streets, though, was fun, and experiencing the subway for the first time, and being a part of the bustle of the city’s night life. It was exhilarating.

me n sis nyc

I’ll tell you what – NYC is literally the exact opposite of Dayton, Wyoming. People everywhere, and within the first twenty minutes of being there (after seeing more people than I do in probably an entire month here) I was overwhelmed. At first I thought I wasn’t really going to like the city, but by the end of the week I had experienced some its charm, some of its intrigue, and I could understand why someone with an artistic nature would love to live there. Here’s to Mickey (my sister) – I hope New York is everything you’re dreaming it to be!

statue of lib

One thought on “Where I’ve Been Lately, Part 1: NYC

Leave a Reply

