The Benefits of Sewing Your Own Purses

Or maybe this post should just be called “The Benefits of Sewing Your Own Stuff”… Seriously, teaching myself how to sew was probably one of the greatest things I’ve ever done. Now, I’m no savant (I can’t make high-fashion clothes or anything like that) but the basics have been pretty easy to master and for that I am eternally grateful.

IMG_1049
Custom Bookshelf Purse, $45

Hand-sewn purses are my topic today.

Let me tell you a story. I used to be a purse addict. Back in middle school and high school, I literally could not get enough of purses. Every time I went to Target I came home with a new one, and eventually I realized I had a problem (this epiphany happened in the form of opening my closet to an avalanche of purses no longer in use). Once I went to college and figured I should be spending my money on more important things, my addiction started to wane.

IMG_0681
Peace Love Books Purse, $35

I still love purses, but largely only the ones I make myself. Here’s why: In making my own purses they can be (1). the exact size that I want, (2). the exact look that I want and (3). cheap. It can be hard to find a purse that fits these three key criteria.

My first foray into purse-making was with this cat purse that I still am very fond of, but it eventually outgrew my needs. Currently, I make and sell (on Etsy) my messenger bags, which are perfect for everything I do in life.

purse
Custom Bookshelf Purse, $45

The reason they’re so handy is that they’re simple, easy to wear, and very spacious. And whenever I get tired of one, I can just whip into my stash and -BAM!- new purse. I love that I have all the creative power.

In my opinion, taking the time to make your own purses (or curtains or tablecloths or whatever else that can be sewn in the home) is much more rewarding than spending money and gas to go to Target. You’ll always better appreciate something you make with your own two hands anyway.

Learning to sew is not difficult. You don’t have to be an artist to do it. All you need is fabric, a sewing machine, and some patience. I never use patterns, but I don’t recommend this if you’ve never sewn before. Go to your fabric store and find a simple pattern of something you’d like to have. Try it out, and eventually you’ll realize how magnificent sewing things for yourself really can be. Don’t say you can’t do it just because you’ve never tried.

IMG_1809
Mountain Purse, $38

Of course, you probably do need to be an artist if you want to paint your purses like I do mine 😉 But I’ll give you a hint: textile medium. Find it at Hobby Lobby.

Have a great Friday and sew something!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

DSCN5711
Nancy Drew Bookshelf Purse, $38
3 thoughts on “The Benefits of Sewing Your Own Purses

  1. Sewing clothes, accessories, etc..is always the way to go, if time permits. I just got a review copy of: Amy Butler’s Style Stitches that includes 26 purses,totes…it’s inspired me to get sewing again soon. So has your post! Following here now too. 🙂

  2. And just wait until to get to sew clothes for your baby – if it is a girl oh my what fun! I made every holiday dress for my daughter and all her formal dance dresses until her junior year in high school.

Leave a Reply

