Easy Miniature Pies for Pi Day

IMG_2139

Since my husband is a math teacher it is basically a requirement that I make a big deal out of Pi Day. A few weeks ago, he informed me that one of his classes would be celebrating the holiday and requested that I make a pie for the occasion. Never one to back down on a baking challenge, I readily agreed. Then I thought, better than one plain pie would be a bunch of miniature pies! Because mini things are ALWAYS BETTER! Especially if I put some pi symbol cut-outs on them!

IMG_2147 IMG_2162

And so my plan was born.

For the sake of expediency, I decided to use pre-made pie crust and canned pie filling. Obviously, it’s not ideal, but I wanted to keep the project simple since I had quite a few students to make mini pies for.

For 12 miniature pies, you’ll need:

  • 2 cans pie filling, your choice
  • 1 freezer pie crust, thawed
  • Egg white wash

Here’s how to do it.

IMG_2095

Spray a 12-cup muffin tin with oil. Lay out your pie crust on a large piece of parchment paper. If your muffin tin is 3 inches across, use a 4-inch circle cookie-cutter (or cup or tin, like I used) and cut out 12 circles. Press the crust into your muffin cups, smoothing out the bumps and going to the very top.

IMG_2105IMG_2108

Fill the muffins cups with your filling, almost to the top. Now prepare top crust layers.

IMG_2112

For a traditional double crust (with a pi symbol, of course!) use a three-inch round cookie cutter (or cup or tin) and cut out as many as you need. I alternated between the whole double crust layer and the simple pi symbol. You can also do a lattice layer, which is the same technique as on a normal-sized pie, but small. Make sure you press the top layer crust firmly into the bottom layer.

IMG_2117IMG_2122

Finally, wash the crusts lightly with a whipped egg white, and bake at 350 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes. Let cool before attempting to take out of the muffin tins.

IMG_2129

I was thrilled at how cute these little pies turned out, and they’re a quick and easy way to celebrate this nerdy holiday! It would be a fun project to do with little kids. I hope you enjoyed this DIY, and stay tuned for a delicious pie recipe coming your way tomorrow. With fresh ingredients this time. 😉

IMG_2165

6 thoughts on “Easy Miniature Pies for Pi Day

Leave a Reply

