Creamy Lemon Meringue Smoothie

I’ve got another lemon recipe for you, because apparently I am trying to channel my inner summer even though it’s only like 6 degrees outside. This smoothie is my attempt to capture the essence of a lemon meringue pie (the absolute best type of pie in the world, hands down) in a healthy, energizing drink. So this thing of magic is basically a pie in a cup, especially when garnished with some raw oatmeal. Of note, there is nothing actually meringue about it but, hey, it still works for me. 😉

IMG_1167

I have a smoothie almost everyday for lunch. Smoothies work great for me because I can whip them up really quick and then continue to work on my projects while eating. Furthermore, you can pack some really great nutrients into a homemade smoothie; I’ve recently been using vanilla protein powder, which keeps me sustained and energized for a long time.

I love experimenting with different smoothie flavors. What is your favorite, go-to smoothie recipe?

IMG_1183

Creamy Lemon Meringue Smoothie

INGREDIENTS:

1 frozen banana
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1/2 tsp lemon zest
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp agave nectar
1 cup water
Ice cubes (enough to reach your desired consistency. I like my smoothies really runny, so I sometimes skip ice cubes all together)

METHOD:

1. Place all ingredients except ice cubes in blender and blend until smooth.

2. Add ice cubes until desired consistency is reached.

3. Top with oatmeal or perhaps my Lemon Chamomile Granola and enjoy!

IMG_1187

For those of you who are lemon-obsessed like me, here are my other lemon recipes. Also, look forward to more lemon recipes coming soon (think homemade, low sugar pudding).

4 thoughts on “Creamy Lemon Meringue Smoothie

  1. Well my love for you has grown incrementally because you, like me, understand that the ultimate, the only, the essence of pie is the lemon meringue pie! Rock on sister!

Leave a Reply

