Lemon Dream Energy Bites

IMG_1425

I’m going to admit something to you guys: I am sort of…totally obsessed with energy bites. Like, I can’t stop making them. Ever since my first foray into these marvelous ball-shaped bites of deliciousness with my Peanut Butter Spinach Energy Bites I have not been able to stop making them. So it’s been like four weeks straight of energy bites. But whatever, they’re delicious and nutritious, so I don’t feel bad about it.

IMG_1453IMG_1427

These Lemon Dream Energy Bites are my favorite to date. I love lemon things, and these bites are tangy and wonderful. I rolled them in sugar-free desiccated coconut, but this is totally optional. I really love the additional sweetness it gives to the bites. And it makes them look kinda pretty too.

IMG_1423

Lemon Dream Energy Bites

INGREDIENTS:

3 cups granola
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp chia seeds
2 scoops vanilla protein powder
3 tbsp flour
2 tbsp coconut oil
3 tbsp honey
1/2 cup lemon juice
Lemon zest of one lemon
Sugar-free desiccated coconut (to roll bites in)

METHOD:

1. Place oats, salt, chia, protein powder, and flour into a large bowl. Stir until combined.

2. In a microwaveable bowl, place coconut oil and honey and microwave for 15 to 30 seconds until the mixture is thin and easy to stir. Add lemon juice to mixture, stir, and pour over oat mixture.

3. Stir until well combined. If too dry, add water one tablespoon at a time. If too wet, add flour one teaspoon at a time.

4. Using tablespoon to measure, roll oat mixture into balls. Roll each ball into the desiccated coconut. Chill until ready to eat.

IMG_1444

One thought on “Lemon Dream Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

