Creamy Carrot Soup and Garden Dreams

IMG_0400The weather in Dayton for the last couple weeks has been almost cruelly wonderful. I mean, it’s the middle of February and I’ve been outside in shorts on multiple occasions. I’ve had laundry on the clothesline to dry. I’ve been on bike rides and hikes. I’ve even wandered around my backyard aimlessly, blissfully, merely because it was too nice to be inside. All this gorgeous weather has got me thinking of spring and dreaming of gardens, but I know it’s only a short reprieve and that winter will be back eventually. I do thank Wyoming, though, for this lovely gift.

I can’t wait to plant my garden this spring. I recently found out that Dayton has community garden plots you can rent for $15 a season. It’s convenient (and better than doing it in our own yard) because there is a huge fence surrounding it to keep out the deer. Since we have hordes of deer in our yard every day, a garden vegetable would be feeding the wildlife more than Grant and me. I might plant them their own little garden for snacking though. ;P

IMG_1215

So far for my garden I am planning on tomatoes, carrots, sweet potatoes, kale, and possibly parsnips. I haven’t quite decided yet, but I am suuuuuper excited to get started. I’ll be doing some research in the meantime on good Wyoming vegetables, and investing in some indoor plants as well (especially for when winter comes back!)

house plant

To tide myself over until garden-time, it’ll have to suffice to eat some of my delicious Creamy Carrot Soup, which is basically like a garden in a bowl. It has carrots and sweet potato and some hearty spices like curry and ginger. Sooooo good, and I imagine it’d be a thousand times better even with homegrown veggies. Enjoy!

IMG_0401

Creamy Carrot Soup

INGREDIENTS:

4 large carrots, chopped
1 large sweet potato, peeled and cubed
1 medium potato, peeled and cubed
1 medium onion, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp ginger, or to taste
1/2 tsp curry powder, or to taste
6 cups water
Salt to taste
A touch of milk

METHOD:

1. Sautee onions, ginger, and curry powder in olive oil until onions are soft and translucent.

2. Place onions, vegetables, and water in a dutch oven or soup pot and place heat on high until boiling. Reduce heat to medium and let simmer until veggies are soft. Add salt to taste.

3. When vegetables are very soft, let soup cool. Puree in food processor until smooth, and add a touch of milk. Right before serving, heat soup just to boiling.

IMG_0415

One thought on “Creamy Carrot Soup and Garden Dreams

Leave a Reply

