Happy National Handwriting Day!

IMG_0466

Did you know that January 23rd is National Handwriting Day? I know there is a random holiday basically every day of the year, but I particularly appreciate this one. In this age of social media and technology, handwriting often gets overlooked and forgotten. This is so unfortunate, because there is a special kind of beauty to be found in a handwritten note.

The holiday was established in 1977 to bring to light the purity and power of writing by hand; conveniently, January 23rd happens to be John Hancock’s birthday, owner of the most famous signature in history. It used to be that kids in school took penmanship classes every year; nowadays, few schools offer this type of instruction at all. I think when I was in first or second grade we took a few days to learn the basic cursive forms, but other than that, handwriting was entirely absent from my education. In some ways, I get this. We’ve got computers to type on, phones to text on, and a lot of other important things to learn – penmanship is simply not as necessary in our society today as it used to be. Nevertheless, there is nothing – nothing – that compares to getting a handwritten letter in the mail.

IMG_0484

Living so far away from family and friends, I’ve come to realize how hard it is to keep in touch with people, even with the ease of modern technology. I think because sending a text is so easy, I oftentimes just forget about it or tell myself I’ll do it later, and consequently don’t talk to loved ones for weeks or even months at a time. To remedy this sad situation, I’ve decided to take up letter writing again. So much personality can be contained in the curvature of a letter, the scribble of a line. A letter is intentional and thoughtful – a quick text or some words on a Facebook wall just do not compare.

So write a letter today in honor of National Handwriting Day. Someone will greatly appreciate it. 🙂

IMG_0495

One thought on “Happy National Handwriting Day!

  1. I love handwriting and have very special people who enjoy it also. I even bought sealing wax again since I used to always seal my letters. It is a beautiful art form and can never be replaced by technology. Just as holding a book cannot compare to holding a Kindle or a Nook, holding a letter written by someone carries such heartfelt moments. Cheers to you for remembering the beauty of a well-crafted letter. I love you dearly

Leave a Reply

