DIY Camera Strap Cover (With Three Pockets!)

camera strap

For Christmas this year my parents surprised me with the best gift yet: A Canon Rebel T3i. I’d been planning on getting this as a Christmas gift to myself (really to Peels and Posies, because my product photography could use a little boost) but my husband, who knew their plan, sneakily tricked me into waiting until after Christmas to buy a new camera. Good thing I did, I guess.

camera

So with a new, fancy pants camera in hand, I knew I needed a camera bag and something to stash my lens cap in for picture-taking sprees. My plans to buy a camera bag fell through when all the ones I found were either ugly or super expensive, so I decided to make own. With that, I thought it’d be perfect to have a complementary camera strap cover, with plenty of pockets to store some goodies.

camera bag

This camera strap cover is a super easy project that anyone could do. I’m not posting a tutorial for my camera bag because I sort of just started sewing without any concrete plan. Luckily it turned out good, but I’m not sure if I could do it again with the same results…So anyway.

IMG_0263

There are three pockets on this camera strap, one that goes all the way around the strap from front to back, and two smaller ones on each end of the strap. The smaller pockets are the perfect size for the lens cap and I figure you could put business cards, lists, bobby pins, or something in the others.

IMG_0183

Supplies:

  • Fabric (I used three different patterns)
  • Fusible interface (to iron on to the back of your fabric for stiffness)
  • Fabric scissors
  • Thread

Fabric to Cut:

  • Two pieces of fabric for the front and back of your strap, 26.5″ by 4″ (I used two types of fabric for some blocking interest; if you choose to do it this way simply make sure your finished strip is about 26.5″)
  • Two pieces of fusible interfacing, 26.5″ by 4″
  • One piece of fabric for large pocket, 3.5″ by 8″
  • Fusible interfacing, 3.5″ by 8″
  • Two pieces of fabric for smaller pockets, 4″ by 3″
  • Two pieces fusible interfacing, 4″ by 3″

Construction: 1. Cut out your fabric strips and interfacing and iron the interfacing to the backside of each of your fabric strips.

IMG_0226IMG_0231

2. Now sew your pockets. Take one of the 4″ by 3″ pieces of fabric and fold the 3″ edge over about 1/3″.  Fold one more time to create a finished edge for the center side of the pocket. Stitch this down using one row of stitching. Now, do the same with the 4″ side, making a finished edge for the top of your pocket. Next, take the 8″ by 4″ piece of fabric. Center your finished pocket piece on top of the larger pocket piece and put a seam on each side. Finish the edge of the larger pocket by folding over 1/2″, pressing, and folding again, finishing it with two rows of stitching. Set aside to sew onto the strap later.

IMG_0234 IMG_0235

3. Finish the top edge of the other small pocket using the same method as above. Now, center it over the bottom of one of the strap pieces. Sew on every side except the top.

IMG_0232

4. Place the two strap strips on top of each other, outside in. Sew along one of the long edges, allowing about a 1/2″ seam allowance. When finished with the seam, iron it flat.

IMG_0241 IMG_0242

5. Now sew your large pocket onto the side of your strap that does not have a pocket.

IMG_0245

6. On the top and bottom side of the strap, put a finished edge by using the same method used for finishing the pockets.

IMG_0247 IMG_0248

7. Fold strap in half, seams facing out. Sew along the remaining edge, allowing about a 1/2″ seam allowance. Finish the edge with a zig-zag stitch.

IMG_0255

8. Turn the strap right side out and iron flat. If you’d like, put a topstitch in on one or both sides, but not stitching over the pockets.

IMG_0259

All done! I hope you enjoyed this tutorial! If you try your hand at making one of these, I’d love to see it! Instagram it and tag @peelsandposies.

IMG_0267 IMG_0176

2 thoughts on “DIY Camera Strap Cover (With Three Pockets!)

  1. Haleigh, this is SO cool!! I love recognizing some of the familiar fabrics used in your awesome projects. I’m so glad I was able to pass down to you some of my “stash” of “planned but never done” or extra leftovers from those projects actually accomplished!! 143 Nana

Leave a Reply

