Hello December

snowy

Grant and I had a wonderful first solo Thanksgiving. The cornish hens turned out great (at least they looked and smelled great, and Grant said they tasted so as well), the house was filled with delicious fragrances, and I even set the table all nice – which I meant to show you, but my camera cord was met with a misfortunate mishap that ended up in frayed wires (so no uploaded pictures until my new cord comes in the mail 😥  ).

Now that my favorite holiday has ended, it is time to gear up for my second favorite holiday – Christmas! Honestly, I don’t know how Christmas couldn’t be in one’s top holidays. I call it second, but it is such a close second that it is hardly even noticeable. But anyway. I love the weeks preceding Christmas because everything just seems a little cheerier, no matter where you are. I love seeing Santa shaped chocolates in the Walmart checkout lanes, down town streets draped in garland and lights, even the gaudy plastic snowmen and deer that people put in their yards make me smile this time of year. There is no such thing as too much Christmas spirit.

With my Etsy shop in the full swing of holiday sales, I have to remember to slow down, enjoy the season. It’s really easy to get caught up in the busyness of it and overlook the true nature of the season, the real reason for us being here and for celebrating. One of the my biggest goals for this month is to breathe – to do some Christmas things I enjoy, like making gingerbread houses, spending time on gifts for family and friends, and watching Christmas movies without the distraction of work.

There’s so much to love about this month and this season – what are your favorite things about December?

And in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God unto a city of Galilee, named Nazareth, to a virgin espoused to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David; and the virgin’s name was Mary. And the angel came in unto her, and said, Hail, thou that art highly favoured, the Lord is with thee: blessed art thou among women. And when she saw him, she was troubled at his saying, and cast in her mind what manner of salutation this should be. And the angel said unto her, Fear not, Mary: for thou hast found favour with God. And, behold, thou shalt conceive in thy womb, and bring forth a son, and shalt call his name Jesus.

– Luke 1:26-31

DSCN6989

Leave a Reply

