DIY Leaves and Pinecones Fall Wreath

Happy Halloween, everyone! In celebration of the season, I would like to share with you this super fun DIY natural wreath I made last weekend. There is nothing like a fall wreath to welcome you into a home. I really love making wreaths because they take less precision than the other pretties I make. All day I’m using tiny brushes and squinting until my eyes go cross, trying to paint these tiny words and pictures. So taking a step back and  making a project that can afford some mess-ups and stumbles is a welcome break.

DSCN7932

This DIY Leaves and Pinecones Fall Wreath is completely natural – everything you see came from my backyard! (Except the wire base.)

DSCN7963

This ^ is what I call my Autumn Box of Treasures. Every time I go outside to take a walk or pet the horses in my backyard, I find things I just can’t let get away. So I go inside and put these things in my box. It’s handy having a box like this, because everything I used for my wreath came right out of it!

DSCN7902

Such as pinecones.

DSCN7904

And leaves.

DSCN7905

And sticks.

DSCN7907

And more leaves.

Now, I hope you have an Autumn Box of Treasures, but if you don’t you can start one now. Go outside and gather some pretty things for your wreath. You will also need:

  • A thick wire for your base. The type I used is covered in brown twine, and can be found at Hobby Lobby.
  • Floral wire, which can also be found at Hobby Lobby or Walmart.
  • Hot glue gun and glue sticks.

Now let’s get started.

The first thing you will want to do is form a circle with the wire. This will be the base of your wreath, so make the bottom a few layers thick.

DSCN7912

Next, attach pinecone to the bottom of your wreath by twisting floral wire around them. Make sure they are tight. These pinecones will form a sturdier and thicker base for glueing on your leaves and sticks.

DSCN7913 DSCN7914 DSCN7915

Now it’s time to start attaching your leaves and sticks. Put them wherever your heart leads you, but try to cover as much of the green floral wire as you can. This step is the really fun part, because you can make your wreath as exuberant and full as you’d like.

DSCN7919

Keep glueing and arranging until you like the way it looks. Lastly, spray some clear gloss varnish over top it to protect it from the elements, and it’s ready for door hanging!

DSCN7920

Here is my wreath in action. What a lovely piece of door decor this wreath makes!

Enjoy!

DSCN7940DSCN7937

Leave a Reply

