Acorn Squash Chestnut Soup

The first time I ever had a squash soup was on a cruise with my family when I was in high school. It was some sort of pumpkin soup, curried maybe, and it changed my life. I don’t know why I had always shied away from squash until then; probably because my parents were not necessarily quiet when it came to their dislike of the vegetables.

DSCN7272

Let me tell you a story about spaghetti squash. The only time I ever had it as a child was when my mom decided to make an experimental halloween recipe she found in a recipe book. This recipe was called Cat Puke, I kid you not. I don’t know if it was the name of the dish or what was actually inside it (all I remember was cheese), but NO ONE in my family enjoyed that meal. In fact, it may have even made some of us gag. Since that alarming experience, no one in my family touched a spaghetti squash, or any other type of squash for that matter, for many many years.

DSCN7264 DSCN7271

It wasn’t until I got to college that I realized how sad that is. I love squash now. I have made a plethora of delicious recipes with spaghetti squash (none of them called Cat Puke), and I can’t think of a better meal than a hearty squash soup.

Acorn Squash is extremely versatile, but I especially love it as soup because it has a subtle nutty flavor.

DSCN7276

This soup is perfect for a cool, autumn day.

DSCN7274

DSCN7279

Roasted Acorn Squash Chestnut Soup

INGREDIENTS:

1 large acorn squash
1 granny smith apple
1 carrot
3 stalks of celery
1 onion
2 tbsp olive oil
3 cups water
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp nutmeg
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup chestnuts (I used the kind in a bag, pre roasted)
1/2 cup milk

METHOD:

1.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Cut the squash in half and clean out seeds (save them for roasting and topping the soup with!). Spray with oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and roast in oven until soft. Let cool.

2. While squash is cooking, prepare the other vegetables. Chop onion, celery, and carrot, and sauté in 3 tablespoons of olive oil until translucent. Chop apple and add to mixture. When acorn squash is cool enough, scrap it out of skin and into vegetable mixture. Add roasted chestnuts. Add water and bring to a boil. Once it reaches a boil, turn heat down and let simmer for 30 minutes. Add spices  and salt and pepper.

3. Once soup has simmered for thirty minutes, process in a food processor or blender until smooth. Add milk.

4. Top with acorn squash seeds and fresh oregano.

DSCN7283

2 thoughts on “Acorn Squash Chestnut Soup

Leave a Reply

