DIY Leaf Gift Tags…The Best Way to Immortalize Fall

Do you ever go outside during fall and just wish you could save each and every one of those perfect, yellow leaves fluttering down from the trees? Obviously, this is impractical. But I’ve discovered a great way of immortalizing at least a few.

DSCN7137

Making gift tags out of leaves is actually incredibly easy. And it just finishes off a package so perfectly.

DSCN7129

I actually thought of the idea in pondering how to make my autumn-inspired items in my Etsy shop really special when someone opens up their package. What better way of doing that than with a real piece of fall?

DSCN7203

So here’s what you need:

  1. Some pretty leaves from your backyard. Make sure they are relatively freshly fallen otherwise they will be too crumbly to hole punch.
  2. Gloss varnish. I used DuraClean, but you can use any brand. Varnish can be purchased at Walmart or Hobby Lobby.
  3. A paintbrush for brushing on the varnish.
  4. Waterproof pens. The pens I used are actually Pentel Gel Rollers for fabric. Obviously, you don’t have to use a fabric pen, but I swear by Pentel, so those were my pens of choice. I know that they are truly waterproof.
  5. Twine.
  6. A hole puncher.

And that’s it! Let’s get started.

First off, write your messages on the leaves like so. They can be whatever you want!

DSCN7206DSCN7205

After letting the ink dry for a few minutes, paint your leaves with varnish. You will only need a few drops per leaf, and make sure you varnish both sides entirely.

DSCN7211 DSCN7212

I used my twine as a drying rack. Make sure your leaves are completely dried before attempting to punch a hole in them.

DSCN7213

Punch your holes and voila! Leaf gift tag.

DSCN7132 DSCN7133

Hope you enjoy!

25 thoughts on “DIY Leaf Gift Tags…The Best Way to Immortalize Fall

  1. That is adorable! I love adding fun tags and ribbon to my gifts, but I hate paying lots of money to do so. This idea won’t break the bank while still allowing me to dress up my presents! 🙂

Leave a Reply

