A Day of Winter in the Middle of Fall

Every year when autumn arrives, I remember why it is my favorite season. The smells, the colors, the crisp air, the unearthing of cozy sweaters – ahh, what a marvelous time of the year! I’ve been so inspired this fall, making all sorts of autumn-themed decor – because the only thing better than the feeling of fall outside is the feeling of fall inside your very house.

DSCN6397

For the most part, my first fall in Wyoming has been incredible. The tree outside my craft room is already burning with color and every once in a while I’ll watch a leaf dance down. The mountain air smells delicious and I can’t seem to ever breathe enough of it in.

This past week, however, my perfect mountain fall did experience a little hiccup.

DSCN6570

Yes, a freak winter storm. It snowed all night and all day, resulting in around 6 inches in some places. And of course it had to happen when my lovely friend Sydney, lifestyle blogger and artist (find her work here and here) was visiting all the way from Oklahoma. We had fun taking pictures of the snow, though, so it wasn’t all bad. And of course we spent the rest of the wintery day crafting inside 🙂

img_3358DSCN6555DSCN6545 DSCN6553

While the little taste of winter was interesting, I am so glad to get back to fall. I’m not quite ready to be buried in snow – I haven’t been buried in leaves yet! The last day of Sydney’s stay was beautiful – we hiked the Tongue River Canyon and wandered around the cutest craft fair called Born in a Barn. I was sad to see her go on Saturday, but I suppose we have to get back to reality eventually! And thank goodness, this winter wonderland isn’t reality quite yet.

DSCN6576

DSCN6529

Leave a Reply

