Adventure In My Side Yard

For as long as I can remember I have had this fascination with abandoned houses. There is just something about forgotten structures – it’s like the people who lived there once still haunt the dust motes, telling their stories in the sun rays.

I haven’t had too many opportunities to explore abandoned houses, but every chance I get I do. There was one about half a mile from where my parents lived when I was in high school; sometimes my friends and I would go there when we were bored, but the inside was locked up so we had to content ourselves with wandering the remnant filled yard. Old tractors, rusting fridges, tires, bottles…

There was also a good one near Belhaven University in Jackson, Mississippi, where I went to college for a few semesters. Now that house was interesting. The roof had long ago fallen in and it was thusly covered in a blue tarp. We went at night, my friends and I, sneaking in through the gaping front door, checking for squatters around the corners. We found curiosities there, like a pair of dentures and a ghostly picture of an man in a suit.

My married life hasn’t contained many abandoned buildings – until we moved to Dayton, Wyoming.

DSCN6162

As it turns out, the house we are renting is more than just a house – it is a commune of abandoned buildings!

In total, we have seven buildings on our acre yard. Three of these are old houses in varying states of disrepair, three are decaying sheds (one of which is literally falling over), and one is the house we live in.

Now let me take you on a journey through my favorite one. (Rest assured, this is not the one we live in.)

DSCN6185 DSCN6169 DSCN6178DSCN6170DSCN6179DSCN6171 DSCN6174 DSCN6175

Aren’t the floors just magnificent? And the windows?

DSCN6186

Unfortunately, this house is destined for the bulldozer. I don’t think I’m supposed to be wandering through it for safety issues and what not, but can you blame me?? It’s adventure in my side yard!

One thought on “Adventure In My Side Yard

Leave a Reply

