Divergent: A Series Worth Reading

Divergent Brooch by Peels and Posies on Etsy
Divergent Brooch by Peels and Posies on Etsy

As a bibliophile and an avid reader, I know I shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover. However, sometimes the artist in me judges in spite of it all. Recently, I discovered the err in my ways. A couple of years ago, my mom gave me one of the ugliest contemporary novels I’ve seen in a while – a cliche ring of fire, dark city scape, rolling clouds – and urged me to read it. I thought Divergent was about robots or some other sci-fi theme I don’t typically want to immerse myself in, and so I let it gather dust on my bookshelf.

However at the beginning of the year I decided to finally pick the book up (after seeing the movie trailer which piqued my interest), and I am so so glad I did.

The Divergent series consists of three books in which the narrator, Tris Prior, grows up in her identity – both what society marks her as and what she marks herself as. The series takes place in a post-apocolyptic Chicago, where the citizens are divided into five factions, based on their primary character quality: Abnegation (Tris’s starting faction), for the selfless; Dauntless (Tris’s chosen faction), for the brave; Amity, for the peaceful; Erudite, for the intelligent; and Candor, for the honest.

Divergent Hair Pins by Peels and Posies on Etsy
Divergent Hair Pins by Peels and Posies on Etsy

The pivotal issue in the story is that it is not in man’s nature to be just one thing, and Tris Prior must grapple with not only her own inner stuggles, but with her broken society as well.

This series has an extremely engaging plot and relatable characters. I highly recommend both the books and the movie (but obviously, read the books first!).

Check out this Divergent-inspired gift guide I put together. For the complete collection, follow this link.

divergentgift guide copy

1. Carnival Photography by Carolyn Cochrane on Etsy, $30 // 2. Teal Constellations Print by Elise Mahan Fine Art on Etsy, $12 // 3. Be Brave Pillow by Belles and Ghosts on Etsy, $36 // 4. Be Brave Inspirational Print by Sweet Peony Press on Etsy, $10 // 5. Black Air Plant Pod by The Yarn Kitchen on Etsy, $21 // 6. Black Gothic Fairy Tale Crown by Neesie Designs on Etsy, $17 // 7. Bird Cake Topper Set by Ross Lab on Etsy, $28 // 8. Eye Moon Original Drawing by The Micromentalist on Etsy, $84 // 9. Grab Life Painting by Messy Bed Studio on Etsy, $99

6 thoughts on “Divergent: A Series Worth Reading

  1. I read the first 2 and then couldn’t remember much about them when the 3rd came out. I need to revisit the beginning so I can finish the series. I can’t decide if I want to see the movie or not.

  2. I read the Divergent series and liked them enough to pass the books on to my son. He’s reading them now and called me to try and guess the end during the third book! No spoilers from me!

Leave a Reply

