Pumpkin Spice Brownies

I think it’s finally time to post this magical recipe for everyone. I’ve been meaning to for quite some time, but somehow the hours just slip away from me and everything I mean to do turns into a distant dream and a far flung longing for those days of quiet boredom that used to litter my era of school-going.

I’ve done some pretty fantastic things recently, though, including but not limited to petting a baby deer and dropping my phone in a cup of steaming coffee (okay, so that last one wasn’t so fantastic). I’ve also been baking a lot (pumpkiny things especially), so be looking forward to that! These Pumpkin Spice Brownies are perfect for the fall season – for obvious reasons. I love brownies because they are so easy to make. These particular brownies combine that special feature with all the delicious spiciness of autumn cooking.

So I don’t think I need to say anything profound or long-winded about this recipe. It is two good things put together, after all. Pumpkin spice, the best flavor of fall; chocolate, the best flavor of the rest of the seasons…yep, that pretty much covers it. I will say that it struck me afterward how good those new Pumpkin Spice M&Ms would be in these brownies. They would have blended in superbly…Next time. Next time.

DSCN1927

Pumpkin Spice Brownies

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup finely processed oats
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp molasses
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ginger
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1 egg

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Combine oats, flour, baking powder, cocoa powder, and spices. On a double boiler or in the microwave, melt 1/3 cup chocolate chips. When completely melted, add brown sugar, pumpkin puree, molasses, and olive oil. Mix well and then add egg.

2. Combine wet ingredients and dry ingredients, mixing until everything is well incorporated. Add remaining chocolate chips.

3. Bake at 350F for approximately 40 minutes or until a fork comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

