Poppyseed Havarti Banana Bars

DSCN1160

I’m getting married to this man in less than two weeks!!!! It seems sooo crazy, and apart from planning, working, and of course running fabulous races full of color, I don’t have time for anything. My apologies for the lack of posts in the last couple of weeks, and there is a strong possibility that this lack of posts will endure until after my wedding. But that’s all right; a lot of good things are happening in my life.

Of course, getting this close to the wedding, I’ve been having quite a few weird, wedding-related dreams that have me in a panic from the first minute I’m awake. For instance, last night I dreamed that Grant and I and my whole family didn’t realize it was 1:47 pm, Sunday, July 28th (13 minutes before the ceremony is set to start) and we were still at home in Texas (13 hours away from where we were supposed to be). I wasn’t dressed or make-upped; the only thing ready was my hair, which, I must admit, looked fabulous. Of course, later in the dream we found out that it was not actually Sunday but rather Thursday. Crisis adverted. Dreams are weird.

With all this craziness going around, baking still sets my mind at ease, and though I don’t have much time for it at the moment, I still manage to get some sort of treat in every once in a while. My recent treat was Poppyseed Havarti Banana Bars. I couldn’t resist buying the 99 cent bag of bananas from fareway the other day, which resulted in having three bunches of overripe bananas. These bananas bars have a twist with the havarti (one of the best types of cheese in the world) and are heart healthy with oatmeal and pure maple syrup for a subtle sweetness. Great for breakfast or dessert.

DSCN1132

In other news, I had a grand time running the Color Run in Des Moines this weekend with my sister, Papa, and fiancé. Though most of the people participating in this “race” walked the whole way, it was an exhilarating run – especially when we came to the clouds of color dust.

Here is a before and after picture; so clean before, so colorful after!

DSCN1152DSCN1158

If you ever have the chance to run the Color Run you most definitely should! It is a little spendy, but it makes for a great Saturday.

But back to baking. Here is my fantastic Banana Bar recipe. And also, don’t forget to vote for my Honey Fig Tea Cake on Narnia’s Facebook Page for The Great Narnia Cooking Contest!

DSCN1134

Poppyseed Havarti Banana Bars

INGREDIENTS:
2 cups oats, finely processed
1/4 cup walnuts, finely processed
2 mashed bananas
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup shredded harvarti cheese
1/2 tbsp vanilla
1 tbsp poppyseeds
1 egg
1/4 tsp almond extract

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Mash 2 bananas. Combine bananas, syrup, vanilla, egg, and almond extract. Stir well. In a separate bowl, combined processed oats, processed walnuts, salt, baking soda, and poppyseeds. Combine dry ingredients with wet ingredients and mix until well combined.

2. Fold shredded havarti into the batter until evenly distributed.

3. Bake at 350F for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

DSCN1132

Leave a Reply

