Peach Almond Oatmeal Muffins

DSCN0997

Hullo, Friends. It always seems like ages between posts these days. This full-time working thing is just killing me. I was meant to be freeeeeeee, to craft, to write, to read! I miss those days of quietude, when I had the luxury of taking time to plan and think and just plain be. But alas, I am a working woman, putting bacon on the table even though I don’t eat it myself. Ha!

This isn’t to say I hate my job. Nannying always holds its intrigues. Just the other day I was amazed at how creative the mind of a child can be. I made a hedgehog form out of a bottle, tin foil, and masking tape to be later papier-mached, and the kids were so enthralled by my primitive creation that they each made me make them one. I’m certainly not content with the thing as it is, but the kids considered their half-covered water bottles finished. They named their pets, gave them water, pranced around the house with them. We later went to the park (they took their hedgehogs in some little dog holder things) and they played for hours. And I mean hours. A like thing happened with a giant box from the kids’ aunt. We made it into a house, decorated it – shingles on the roof, tiles on the floor – and they were occupied for the entire day. Success.

Of course nannying comes with its qualms too. Such as: poopy diapers before 9 am, extreme whining because sisters like to stick their tongues out at their little brothers, and hours upon hours of Good Luck Charlie (a mind-numbing show on Disney Channel about a sickeningly cute family).

DSCN1010

So after a long, tiring week of work there is nothing I like better than having some relaxed quality time with my fiancé. We didn’t do anything super exciting – just hung around his apartment, cleaning, watching The Big Bang Theory, crafting/homework (he’s the one with the homework). It was so good for my soul. Another plus is that my dear mom and sis are driving up to Iowa from the great state of Texas this week, to help me plan away my wedding. Nannying plus wedding planning is like having two full time jobs and it’s about time I got some much needed assistance!

But I digress. It really is the simple pleasures in life that make me the happiest. One such simple pleasure is the huge, juicy peaches to be found at Sam’s Club. Honestly, I’ve been waiting all year to get peaches from Sam’s Club again. Last summer was the first time I had had them and they were literally the most delicious fruit I’d ever sunk my teeth into. A year later and they did not disappoint.

DSCN1000

Though they are fantastic just fresh, I didn’t mind sacrificing one to the cause of muffins. I’ve hadn’t tried my hand at Peach Muffins yet, but the idea sounded like a good one. As I’m becoming particularly adept at making oats based muffins, these peachy ones proved successful. And yes, I am rather proud of my abilities.

DSCN1002DSCN1004DSCN1005

What they kind of taste like to me is that Peaches and Cream Quaker Instant Oatmeal, you know, the kind that comes in the paper pouches. I always liked that stuff, but it is packed with sugar, which basically counter-effects all the great health benefits of the oatmeal itself. Luckily I stocked up on local honey at the farmer’s market this weekend, so locally grown honey takes the place of any artificial sweetener I could have used in this healthy morning eat.

DSCN1006

Peach Almond Oatmeal Muffins

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup oatmeal finely processed
1 tbsp whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 large peach, chopped and mashed (about 3/4 cup)
1/4 honey
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp milk
handful of almonds, chopped

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Spray mini muffin tin with Pam and set aside. Mix processed oatmeal, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and whole wheat flour in bowl. In a separate bowl, combine mashed peach, honey, vanilla, egg, olive oil, and milk and mix well.

2. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Fold in chopped almonds. Bake in oven for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

4 thoughts on “Peach Almond Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Thank you for your fabulous posts. They quiet my mind, engage my senses and generally make me smile. As a newcomer, I appreciate your presence in the blogging community. Your posts make me feel quite at home in the world in which you live (and the mental place I like to visit).

Leave a Reply

