Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Frosting (in Homage to All Fathers)

DSCN0964

I was blessed this year to be able to spend father’s day with my father. I went back to Texas last weekend for the lovely wedding of a dear friend, and that just happened to coincide with father’s day too. An added bonus. I don’t know about your dad, but mine loves two things: peanut butter and chocolate.

DSCN0959

This cake makes the best out of that wonderful duo. The cake itself is whole wheat, butter free, chocolatey and full of peanut butter. The frosting is made of greek yogurt and all natural crunchy PB. Of course, for father’s day I just had to top the cake with some candy. Just wouldn’t be the same without it.

DSCN0481

Now enough about the cake. What this post is really about is my awesome dad. When my brother, sister, and I were little he used to be the Tickle Monster. Through the years, he’s also been doctor, adventurer, supporter, and friend. I have never looked up to anyone more than him.

I am grateful to my dad for so many reasons. From the early years when he used to read to us everyday despite his long hours at work, to the afternoon push-up contests we had in elementary school, to the time a year or so ago he told me I could make a million dollars crafting, he’s always had my best interest at heart. He has shaped me into the book-loving, craft-loving, health-conscious person I am today.

DSCN0962Moreover, he has been an excellent leader of our family, showing us that love can go longer and farther than anything else. As I go into my marriage, my dad is the example I will strive to follow as a parent.

Ultimately what this is all to say is…I love you, Dad! Happy Father’s Day!

DSCN0971

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 cup carob or coco powder
1 cup melted chocolate
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup peanut butter
3/4 cup hot coffee
1 1/2 cup milk (with one tbsp vinegar)
3 eggs
For frosting:
1 cup all natural crunchy peanut butter
1/2 cup full fat greek yogury
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and carob powder. In a separate bowl, melt chocolate and peanut butter together and stir well. Add milk and eggs and whip until well-combined.

2. Pour wet mixture into dry mixture and stir together until smooth. Continue to stir while adding the hot coffee. Batter will be thin.

3. Pour batter into two round oiled cake pans. Bake for 35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

4. For frosting: Using mixer, mix all ingredients until smooth. Frost cake when its completely cooled.

DSCN0978

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Frosting (in Homage to All Fathers)

  1. Wow! What an awesome tribute to your Dad. Sounds like we think alike as we consider him an awesome son, as well. πŸ™‚ Brought tears to Papa’s eyes. Luv you.

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

