Lavender Chocolate Pudding

DSCN0812

I started nannying three kids (aged 1, 4, and 7) full time this week, and, boy, has it been interesting. What a handful these children are…So sometimes when I get home, tired, covered in snot and slobber, all I want to do is eat chocolate. And like I said before, I never pass up the opportunity to use my personal herb garden.

Lavender Chocolate Pudding sounded like a decadent, delicious treat after a hard day’s work, and I was right! It is simply wonderful.

DSCN0808

I didn’t know this until recently, but using the lavender leaves are just as acceptable in culinary explorations as the lavender flowers. As my plant has not started blooming yet, I used the leaves for this pudding, chopped them up very fine and mixed them with the sugar, letting the oils seep in. After that, I heated the lavender sugar, milk, and cornstarch, stirring constantly until just boiling. Even without the chocolate it was delicious. And the leaves are so thin that they aren’t even noticeable in the final product.

Like my grandma’s beautiful tea cups? I do. They make any type of pudding better.

DSCN0816

But on the topic of tea cups – last weekend I went to a tea party with my grandma to test out some of the food by the woman who is catering my wedding. Curiously enough, there was not one chocolate dessert. The desserts were delicious – key lime squares, lemon bars, orange madelines, lemon lavender scones, but chocolate was obviously absent. I chalked this up to the fact that, in spite of the chocolate-loving-women stereotype, chocolate is a man’s dessert. Ladies like fruity things, frilly things, dainty things. In point, I believe that this Lavender Chocolate Pudding, though chocolate, has enough daintiness to feel just at home at a ladies’ tea party! Especially when served in tea cups.

DSCN0813

Lavender Chocolate Pudding

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup corn starch
1/8 tsp salt
2 1/2 cup 2% milk
3/4 cup dark chocolate
1/4 white chocolate
handful of lavender leaves, finely chopped
vanilla extract

METHOD:

1. Chop lavender leaves very finely and mix with sugar. Let sit for a couple minutes.

2. Place sugar, cornstarch, and salt in a sauce pan. Slowly add milk and turn heat on medium low. Stir constantly. When milk becomes frothy, add chocolate.

3. Stir constantly until all chocolate is melted and for 4 or 5 minutes more. Should become thick. Take off heat and add vanilla.

DSCN0818

4 thoughts on “Lavender Chocolate Pudding

Leave a Reply

