GIANT SCRABBLE!

DSCN0779

To all of you who are getting married in the near feature, don’t steal my idea. Yards games at the outdoor reception! Okay, fine, I guess you can steal my idea if you want. It is a really great idea. I’m known for those. So yeah. Yard games. I cannot wait for my wedding day because I just know it’s going to be the loveliest, most fun day imaginable (barring rain, knock on wood). The ceremony will be overlooking a garden and a valley of gorgeous hills and the reception will be part in a barn (where the dancing will happen) and part in the glorious sun.

Sounds perfect, doesn’t it?

I’m planning on croquet, badminton, bean bag toss, and of course this stroke of genius (courtesy of my sister) – giant scrabble!

DSCN0775

The pieces are remarkably easy to make. Just hop on over to your local Lowes, go to the wood section, and choose the kind that is half an inch thick. My terrific fiancรฉ cut all the pieces to size (6″ x 6″) and then sanded the edges. I finished the wood with wood stain and then painted on the letters and score points. Easy peasy, lemon squeezy. Took a while though.

DSCN0777

The reason I chose to have this game is that word games are the most fun games in the world (in my humble opinion). My personal favorite is actually Boggle, but free style scrabble, also called Take 2, is a close second. A normal game of Scrabble has 100 tiles, and ย each letter has an appropriate proportion of the total (based on how common the letter occurs in English). It was actually somewhat complicated to figure out what ratio of letters we needed to make, considering we have significantly less tiles than 100. Nevertheless, the game will be grand fun! Just one more reason to be counting down the days till I’m an old married woman ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSCN0792

8 thoughts on “GIANT SCRABBLE!

Leave a Reply

