Pretty Paper Lanterns

I feel as though I’m in a bit of a lull right now. I don’t have any concrete goals, and it makes my life seem rather bland. I mean, sure, I do cool things: like roaming the Des Moines farmer’s market in the cold rain, watching my cousins capture about a thousand toads in a bucket, meeting with wedding planners and going to nature preserves… Life is good right now, I just want a little more direction. Complete freedom only goes so far.

DSCN0624

Sometimes doing hours of mundane craft works to get me out of lulls such as these. Not to say the end product is mundane, but the process can be rather arduous with these paper lanterns. It’s a lot of cutting. This craft is much easier, however, than my fabric lanterns, which is why I promised to post about it.

All you need is paper, scissors, an exacto knife (I used the tiny swivel blade kind), a stapler, and string.

DSCN0625 DSCN0628DSCN0629

As long as you’re willing to put in the work, it’s really easy. Cut three pieces of paper in lengths that get progressively shorter. Scallop ends and with exacto knife cut out hearts. Staple the sides together and make your other sizes. When finished, staple a separate length of rope to the top of each cylinder and then take a longer strand and tie each one together. You can make these lanterns varying sizes.

DSCN0627

Don’t forget to save your cut out hearts and do something cool with them. If nothing else, use them as confetti!

Now, I think I might go bake something.

Leave a Reply

