Welcome Wreaths and Raffia Obsessions

DSCN0642

Welcome!

Ahhhh, there’s just nothing like feeling wanted as soon as you walk through a door. That’s why I love wreaths! Even if they don’t physically sport the word “welcome” they are a feast for the eyes and a hug for the heart. As long as they’re pretty, that is. This wreath was actually in my grandma’s garage sale pile before I snatched it away. It was covered with that fake ivy stuff (which isn’t the best, but it definitely could have been worse) so I deconstructed it and redecorated it in a fashion that I would like to see before walking into a room or a house.

That moss stuff you can buy at Hobby Lobby is just great. I hadn’t used it until I made my wedding cake topper, but my crafting life has truly changed since then. I love this stuff, and with the hot glue gun it’s like magic. Raffia, too, is something I will never go without again. It’s fantastic and adds the perfect touch of garden whimsy to anything.

DSCN0644

The letters are the best part of my wreath though. They look great but  are simply cut out pieces of cardboard, covered with mod podge. That’s it!

DSCN0636DSCN0637

In the spirit and style of my wreath I decorated this forgotten little bird’s nest. It has lived undressed in my grandma’s house for years, and I figured it was finally time to give it something to be proud of. I’m not yet sure what its use will be, but I’ve thought about it long and hard. It would make a great ring holder for my wedding ceremony, but as we have no ring bearer I have a feeling that’s not going to happen… It would look rather silly for the best man to walk down the aisle with a dainty bird nest in hand.

DSCN0639DSCN0641

Finally, for my stick bundle thingy. I know there is a technical term for these things, but for the life of me I cannot think of the name. I wracked and wracked my brain, but to no avail. This is why I am constantly worrying about my mental health. But I digress. I also reconstructed this bundle from a previous state of bland. Raffia and moss and precious little flowers and BAM beautiful. Now I have a set of pretties, to be strategically placed around my home. This is why I love crafts, old stuff, and generosity.

DSCN0640

Leave a comment