Nana’s Delicious Sweet Cucumbers

DSCN0565

Memories of my childhood are highlighted by my Nana’s amazing cooking. I think I liked everything she ever made. In fact, all of my favorite foods came from her recipe book, including but not limited to Spanish Rice, Stuffed French Toast, and these delicious sweet cucumbers.

These cucumbers are basically quick sweet pickles. They taste fresh and are perfect for a picnic or a snack on a hot summer day. Perhaps part of the reason I liked them so much as a kid was because my dad (Nana’s son) also loved them. I liked liking things he liked. Such as sauerkraut and green peppers. Maybe the first couple of times I tried them I had to choke them down, but now they are marked as some of my favorite things ever.

DSCN0566

Nana’s Sweet Cucumbers

INGREDIENTS:

6 large cucumbers
1 1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup vinegar
2 tsp salt
Fresh bell pepper and onion
Dill

METHOD:

1. Thinly slice cucumbers and other veggies and place in a large bowl. Sprinkle with salt and gently mix. Let sit for one hour.

2. After an hour, drain any liquid off the cucumbers. In a separate bowl, dissolve sugar in vinegar. Pour over cucumbers and mix. Add dill. Let set for another hour or longer. The longer you let it sit, the more delicious the cucumbers are.

DSCN0567

I love you, Nana!

4 thoughts on “Nana’s Delicious Sweet Cucumbers

  1. Oops! Sent a post twice cause I thought I inadvertantly deleted the first one! Oh well, doubly appreciative!!

  2. Thanks for honoring me! You’re a sweetheart. It’s like getting a bunch of flowers, like the one’s you’re holding or a big hug! Love you more!!

Leave a Reply

