Strawberry Rosemary Yeast Bread

DSCN0370

It’s been so long since I’ve posted! /O\ But alas, I am in home sweet Texas for my ten-day summer break, and loving every minute of it. Somehow, it’s not too hot this May and the days have been full of sun and badminton and painting giant scrabble pieces (photos soon to come).

My brother and sister are also home for a couple weeks, and I just love it when we are all together. As my fiancΓ© so kindly pointed out, we are some of the weirdest people around, and when we are together that weirdness is magnified. This is all to say, I’ve been a bit too busy to post!

I love my family. While in College Station to celebrate my brother’s graduation from A&M, we putzed around this charming little fresh produce market a block from my brother’s house. Good times.

DSCN0450

This market is open all year round. It must be so nice to have such accommodating weather. I’ve lived in Iowa for half a year and I’ve already forgotten what it’s like to have only three seasons (summer, spring, colder spring). Normally by May it’s freaking hot in Texas, but I’ll take that over snow any day.

DSCN0445DSCN0460DSCN0459

My crazy familia. It’s been so good to spend some time with them!

But here’s the recipe you came here for. Strawberry Rosemary Yeast Bread. Really it was an experiment. I was thinking about that Banana, Almond, and Date Yeast BreadΒ I made a while back and the frozen strawberries I had in the freezer. I’d never heard of strawberry bread before, so I thought I’d give it a try.

DSCN0361

This is a savory bread and the strawberry flavor is subtle, but definitely there. It’s tangy, too, with the addition of balsamic. It’s kind of like a strawberry balsamic salad in bread form. Which means utter deliciousness!

Whoever said strawberries couldn’t be savory anyway?

DSCN0365

Strawberry Rosemary Yeast Bread

INGREDIENTS:

1/3 cup warm water
1/3 cup pureed strawberries
1 1/2 tbsp agave nectar
3 tsp yeast
1/3 cup milk
1 tbsp balsamic
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp rosemary
1 egg
2 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all purpose flour

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Place yeast in warm water and let sit until foamy. Combine flour and salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, mix pureed strawberry, agave, milk, balsamic, whipped egg, and yeast mixture. Stir slightly.

2. Form a well in the flour mixture and pour liquid into it. Mix. On a floured surface, knead dough for three minutes. Let rise for one hour or until doubled in size.

3. Knead again for one minute. Let rise for ten more minutes. Spray a baking sheet with oil and separate dough into three balls. Roll into long strips and braid. Let rise for thirty minutes. Brush with olive oil and balsamic mixture and sprinkle with dried rosemary.

4. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes to an hour.

DSCN0369

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Rosemary Yeast Bread

  1. This looks magnificent! I’d never have thought to pair strawberries and rosemary but I can imagine it would be incredible! πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

