Olive Oil Graham Crackers

DSCN0259

I feel like I’ve been away for ages, though it’s only been five days. But after a glorious weekend complete with sunshine, picnics, tennis, and a long spring-is-finally-here run, I have returned to the blogging world with a great recipe!

DSCN0255I have always loved graham crackers. They seem so simple and yet have this compelling quality that causes quick addiction. Sometimes, however, I get the craving but don’t have a box in my possession (I don’t like to keep store bought cookies in my house – they are far too easy to eat. At least making the cookies myself takes some time, effort, and creativity). Now, I have the perfect solution for those times. HOMEMADE GRAHAM CRACKERS.

I actually like these cookies better than the original, merely because I know exactly what is in them and they are not quite as sweet as store bought. I like the subtle flavor.

DSCN0257

They are deliciously easy to make. I mean, sure you have to knead, roll, and cut, but I’d never really considered making my own graham crackers before because I figured the process would be more complicated than it actually is. Obviously, they’re not the perfect rectangles of traditional graham crackers, but I thought they turned out pretty besides.

DSCN0248
DSCN0249DSCN0254

Maybe the best part about homemade graham crackers, though, is all the things you can consequently use the graham crackers for. I’m thinking a s’more day is soon to come, I’ve already made homemade graham cracker pie crust (maybe I’ll share that recipe with you too), graham cracker cake, perhaps, or banana pudding with layers of graham crackers. AH! All the possibilities. Not to mention, they’re great to snack on just plain.

DSCN0262

Olive Oil Graham Crackers

INGREDIENTS:

1 3/4 cup graham flour
1/2 cup ground oatmeal
1 tbsp all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 egg
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 agave
1 tbsp molasses
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp milk
Cinnamon sugar and milk for topping

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 375. Mix all dry ingredients. In separate bowl, whip egg. Add olive oil, agave, molasses, vanilla, and milk. Mix well.

2. Pour wet mixture into dry mixture and stir. Dough will be thick. Add more milk if necessary. Knead dough ball on floured surface for two minutes. Roll out very thin. Cut into rectangles and prick holes. For cinnamon sugar graham crackers, add a thin milk wash over the cookies and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar mixture.

3. Bake for fifteen minutes or until browned.

DSCN0261

One thought on “Olive Oil Graham Crackers

Leave a comment