Grapefruit Oat Muffins

DSCN0226

Does anyone love grapefruit as much as I do? I mean, man, I can eat grapefruit. Today, while running at the gym I watched Paula Deen, who really inspired me with her “Pucker up” episode. It was all about making food with citrus (lemon linguini, key lime salmon, orange bars, soooo good I was practically drooling all over the treadmill), and it got me to thinking about the lone grapefruit I had left on my counter at home.

Nothing says happiness like grapefruit muffins!

Not to mention, I’ve had this grapefruit curd sitting in my fridge for weeks, waiting to be incorporated into something fantastic.

DSCN0215DSCN0216DSCN0217These muffins are pretty similar in method to my Honey Orange Poppyseed Muffins, with minor adjustments here and there.

DSCN0219

After Paula Deen, Pioneer Woman came on (by this time I had moved on to a stationary bike). I don’t know why I don’t watch more of her. She’s absolutely great! It makes me laugh how obstinate about food her husband is. In the episode I watched, she and her lady friends celebrated when their husbands were out for the night so they could enjoy sangria and Fig  Proscuitto Pizza. How typical!

DSCN0227

So these muffins are dedicated to Paula and Pioneer Woman, the former being the one who inspired me, the latter because her husband most likely wouldn’t eat these muffins. They seem particularly girly to me. Even so, I’m going to make my fiancé try one.  😉

DSCN0233

Grapefruit Oat Muffins

INGREDIENTS:

zest from one ruby red grapefruit
1/4 cup greek yogurt
1/4 cup grapefruit curd
1/4 cup agave
juice from 1/4 of the grapefruit
1 tbsp milk
1 egg
1 cup oats, finely ground
1 tbsp all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Spray a muffin tin with oil and set aside. Zest grapefruit. Combine ground oats, flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Set aside.

2. Combine greek yogurt, grapefruit curd, agave, juice, and milk and stir well. Add egg and stir until well combined. Add wet mixture to dry mixture and just combine (do not over mix). Fold in zest.

3. Bake for about 25 minutes or until golden brown on top.

DSCN0234

4 thoughts on “Grapefruit Oat Muffins

Leave a Reply

