Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes with Roasted Chickpeas

DSCN0157

GUYS. Okay, so I made my favorite meal of Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes which are sinfully delicious, but the real reason I’m excited has nothing to do with food. My grandma gave me these little blue flowers today as evidence of SPRING’S ARRIVAL. They’re blooming along the walkway. THEY’RE SO PRETTY AND SO BLUE.

Today it got up to about 68 degrees and I was so happy I almost cried. Grant and I went outside and ran around like two little kids.

DSCN0160

Mmmmm pretty flowers.

DSCN0168

But anyway. My sweet potatoes are reason for celebration, too, because they are really yummy. Great for a quick meal, healthy, not too much work. Oh yeah.

DSCN0148

DSCN0149

DSCN0150

DSCN0151

DSCN0152DSCN0153

Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes with Roasted Chickpeas

INGREDIENTS:

2 medium or large sweet potatoes
1/2 onion
2 cloves garlic
1 finely chopped celery stalk
1/4 cup plain Greek Yogurt
1 cup chickpeas
1 tbsp Parmesan
1 tbsp feta cheese
Herbs de Provence (or other favorite combo of seasoning), salt and pepper to taste
Plenty of fresh spinach
Mozzarella for topping

METHOD:

1. Bake sweet potatoes in microwave for 9 minutes or until soft. Let them cool. Chop onions, garlic, and celery. Saute in olive oil on low heat until transparent. Add chickpeas and turn up heat to medium high. Salt.

2. Scoop out centers of sweet potatoes so that only a thin layer of potato remains on skin. Spray skins with oil and place in a 375F oven. Bake until slightly crispy.

3. Mix sweet potato, greek yogurt, parmesan, and feta. Add chickpea mixture and fresh spinach. Season to your taste and stir well.

4. When skins are done, remove them from the oven and fill with sweet potato-chickpea mixture. Top with mozzarella and bake in 375F oven until cheese bubbles.

DSCN0154DSCN0164DSCN0167   DSCN0171Sunshine makes us happy ❤

5 thoughts on “Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes with Roasted Chickpeas

  1. Oh my gosh, hold me. I LOVE twice baked sweet potatoes! (And only sweet potatoes, no twice baked regular potatoes for me). YUUUUM! Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous 🙂

Leave a Reply

