Chilled Cantaloupe Soup

DSCN0144

When my brother, sister, and I were in high school, my family used to go on cruises for vacation. Call me crazy, but the thing I liked best about said cruises was the CHILLED FRUIT SOUP that was available to devour basically at all hours. I mean, the other food was okay, the sunbathing all day was nice, the exploring foreign countries was cool, BUT THIS SOUP. Ohmge, so good.

They had every flavor you could think of – blueberry, banana, strawberry, peach, and one of my favorites, cantaloupe. So yesterday I had a fourth of a cantaloupe left and I was all depressed because it was raining and freezing yet again, so I thought I’d experiment and try to recreate that bowl of deliciousness I just couldn’t get enough of while cruising.

DSCN0137Now, I honestly haven’t a clue as to how the cruiselines make their fruit soup. Probably with loads of cream and sugar. Obviously, that isn’t how I concoct, so I gravitated to where I normally gravitate – Greek yogurt and simplicity.

DSCN0139
I was SOOO happy when Great Value brand came out with Greek Yogurt. It’s so much cheaper and still so good. I may even like it better than Fage.

DSCN0138

It’s as easy as throwing your ingredients into a blender. Just make sure your cantaloupe is nice and deliciously ripe. It will make a difference.

DSCN0147While I was eating it, images of running around outside barefoot and wearing white sundresses danced through my head. It was a nice little reprieve from this tiring weather. It’s April, for goodness sake. LET THERE BE SUN.

DSCN0143

Chilled Cantaloupe Soup

INGREDIENTS:

about 1/4 of a cantaloupe, skinned, seeded, chopped
1 tsp lemon juice
1/4 cup greek yogurt
1/4 cup orange juice
1/2 small banana
pinch of salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ginger
bananas, yogurt, honey for garnishment

METHOD:

1. Add all ingredients to blender and blend until smooth.

2. Chill for an hour or so.

3. Serve for breakfast or lunch or tea, with toast maybe!

DSCN0146

One thought on “Chilled Cantaloupe Soup

Leave a Reply

