Summer Squash “Pasta” with Lemon, Basil, and Garlic

DSCN0127

Okay. I am becoming more and more depressed as far as weather goes. My friends in Mississippi are out of school for the summer this saturday, and I’m thinking, “Wow, summertime already! Except it’s FORTY DEGREES AND I HAVEN’T SEEN SUN IN DAYS.” I guess it’s a good thing I still have three weeks of class left (EVER, might I add, as I am graduating at last). It’ll give the world time to cooperate and warm up so I’m not wearing snow boots in July.

Silly Iowa.

But enough of my ranting. Summertime really is just a stone’s throw away. YAY. That’s why I’m making dinner of SUMMER squash. There are lots of things I’m excited about summer for: #1. I’m getting married in July. #2. My feet are suffocating and they need sandals. #3. I miss how sunlight on my face feels. #4. That summer smell. #5. All these Iowan festivals I keep hearing about (Tulip Festival, Watermelon Festival, etc. etc). #6. FARMER’S MARKETS.

These are just a few of the exciting things. No more school for the rest of my life is a big one as well.

DSCN0129

But enough of my hullabaloo. Let’s get to the reason you most likely clicked on this link in the first place. Summer Squash “Pasta.”

DSCN0123
Slicin’ it up

DSCN0124

So I’m not going to claim that this actually does taste like pasta. Because in all reality, it’s a vegetable. However, it is a delicious, easy meal that makes a great substitute for pasta any day. It’s a lot healthier than pasta… And you definitely feel a lot better about yourself after eating a huge bowl of this.

DSCN0130

Summer Squash “Pasta” with Lemon, Basil, and Garlic

INGREDIENTS:

1 summer squash, cut in thin strip lengthwise
Salt and basil
Lemon juice
Parmesan
A bit of olive oil
2 cloves garlic, chopped
A couple slices of onion
Cherry tomatoes, feta cheese, and spinach for serving

METHOD:

1. Cut the summer squash lengthwise into thin strips. Put it in a bowl and sprinkle lightly with basil, salt, and lemon juice. Let sit for ten to fifteen minutes.

2. Prepare garlic and onion. Put a nickel-sized amount of olive oil on a pan and heat to medium. Sauté garlic and onion until lightly browned. Turn heat down to medium low and put summer squash in the pan. Let simmer for just a couple minutes (you don’t want to get your “noodles” brown!). Pour more lemon juice over top, and add parmesan to taste.

3. Serve with tomatoes, feta, and spinach.

DSCN0128

2 thoughts on “Summer Squash “Pasta” with Lemon, Basil, and Garlic

Leave a Reply

