Sweet Potato Pancakes with Chocolate Chips

DSCN0071

I woke up this morning to sunshine. SUNSHINE. For the first time in four days.

Iowa has been the dreariest place this past week, and the worst of it is that on Monday I actually had hope that spring had finally arrived. 75 degrees, not a cloud in the sky, birds singing, shoes off……

It was a dream, wasn’t it? Four days of nothing but monotonous, ho-hum, soul-destroying rain.

But then I woke up this morning and there was light! The long lost sun! I had visions of Monday-past, and I thought maybe we’d be having a repeat. But no. It’s only 35 degrees out there. Sunny, but NOT warm.

I’m feeling a little melodramatic this morning if you can’t tell, but something that always lifts my spirits is some beautiful, delicious, morning pancakes. Sweet potato pancakes to be exact. Sweet potato pancakes with chocolate chips.

DSCN0072The idea struck me when I was making my Sweet Potato Pizza Crust the other day. I’d never even considered making pancakes with sweet potatoes before, but it seemed like the greatest, most delectable idea ever! Of course, after some research I found that sweet potato pancakes are not as original as I thought – evidently they are a southern breakfast classic. Well, I’ll tell you what; I lived in the South for most of my life and I’ve never seen sweet potato pancakes on the menu. But I digress.

These pancakes are delicious. Maybe a better dessert than breakfast, what with the chocolate chips, but it’s easy enough to leave them out for a subtly sweet, earthy pancake made with half oatmeal and half whole wheat. Don’t forget the bananas on top and the pure maple syrup. These things are essential.

DSCN0073

Sweet Potato Pancakes

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 sweet potato, mashed
1 cup milk
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup oats
2 tsp baking powder
chocolate chips (if you choose)
note: I will add cinnamon next time. Not really sure why I left it out…

METHOD:

1. Microwave sweet potato until soft. Mash well and add milk, brown sugar, egg, and vanilla. Mix. Add in flour, oatmeal, and baking powder and mix until just combined. Add chocolate chips last.

2. Spray griddle with Pam and heat to medium low. Pour batter and smooth into a circle. Cook until bubbles form and flip.

DSCN0074

One thought on “Sweet Potato Pancakes with Chocolate Chips

Leave a Reply

