Broccoli and Caramelized Onion Pizza on Sweet Potato Pizza Crust

DSCN0032My new camera arrived today, so I thought I’d celebrate with a new recipe. I love pizza and I love sweet potatoes – why not incorporate the two? Since it seemed too easy to simply put the sweet potato on top of the pizza, I thought I’d try something a little different: like putting the pizza on top of the sweet potato. Clever me.

DSCN0018Sweet potatoes are delicious and nutritious, really. Most people think of sweet potatoes as in Granny’s Sweet Potato Casserole at Thanksgiving, the one with the marshmallows on top. In reality, however, the sweet potato is an extremely versatile food. There are so many things to do with it, and the greatest part of it is that it is packed with good-for-you vitamins and minerals. Who can’t love that?

DSCN0020
not baked…
DSCN0023
baked!

I’ve tried the cheesy cauliflower bread (see recipe here), so I figured it would be essentially the same concept with sweet potato. Of course, the sweet potato has a more distinctive flavor than the cauliflower, but I personally thought it really accentuated my pizza. I loved the slight flavor of cinnamon, the sweetness to offset the caramelized onions and cheese, the rich starchiness to complement the tomatoes and broccoli. Overall, it was a fantastic combination of flavors.

Next time, I want to try some other toppings with this crust, though. I’m thinking feta cheese, spinach, strawberries. Or mozzarella, kale, and really thinly sliced lemon….but these are experiments for another day.

DSCN0027

Sweet Potato Pizza Crust

INGREDIENTS:

1 large sweet potato, mashed
1/4 cup parmesan
1/3 cup flax
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp thyme
1 garlic clove, minced
1 egg
1/2 tsp salt or more to taste
Italian seasoning, rosemary, etc, to taste

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Cook sweet potato in microwave for nine minutes or until soft enough to mash (fully cooked). Let cool slightly, and remove skin. Mash. Add parmesan, flax, and seasonings and mix well. Finally mix in the egg. Mixture will be slightly sticky.

2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spoon mixture on it in a circle. Smooth it out as thin as you prefer. Bake in 400F oven for about 20 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

3. Take out of oven and top with your favorite pizza toppings. Mine is topped with: sliced cherry tomatoes (with basil), colby jack cheese, caramelized onions, broccoli, and cauliflower. Return to oven until cheese is melted.

DSCN0030

10 thoughts on “Broccoli and Caramelized Onion Pizza on Sweet Potato Pizza Crust

    1. Well, I know it’s common in the Midwest US haha. I don’t think my fiancé had ever had sweet potatoes another way before I met him…I’m not a huge fan myself. Also, the puff pastry is a great idea! I’ll have to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

