Fruity Pebble Peep Treats

I have a slight problem. Every time this season rolls around, I have a compulsion to buy and eat as many Peeps as I possibly can. It sounds like a great idea, right?! The problem is that after about one and a half Peeps, I feel like throwing up (it happens with roasted marshmallows during camping season, too). You see, I LOVE Peeps just like I love marshmallows, but they make me sick every time. It’s a darn shame, is what it is, especially considering how beautiful the little Peeps are.

IMG_3641So. I had leftover Peeps to do something with. Luckily (or unluckily, however you choose to look at it), over the last couple of years (before he met me and I started cooking for him), my fiancé has accumulated a ton of quick and easy food – hamburger helper, canned ravioli, and like three boxes of FRUITY PEBBLES! The perfect combo with my Peeps, and this way I don’t have to throw the cereal away when I move in, to make way for real food.

IMG_3644 IMG_3645 IMG_3646

Sometimes I wonder why Fruity Pebbles are even called Fruity Pebbles. I suppose it’s because they are colorful, but all they really taste like to me is sugar. There is not a lick of real fruitiness in there. Not to mention, what kind of fruit even exists in those colors? Bright blue?? That’s a little unrealistic…but I digress.

IMG_3649

I like these treats better than Rice Krispie treats simply because they are prettier, but they are very, extremely, extraordinarily sweet. Which I guess is to be expected. I honestly cannot believe how people eat the stuff (minus the marshmallows) for breakfast. Now my fiancé can enjoy Fruity Pebbles in the dessert-realm, which is where, I believe, they belong.

IMG_3653

Fruity Pebble Peep Treats

INGREDIENTS:

One large box of Fruity Pebbles
1 bag of mini marshmallow
1 package of Peeps
1 tbsp Olive oil
2 tsp vanilla

METHOD:

1. Heat oil in a large pot. Pour in marshmallows, Peeps, and vanilla and stir until fully melted. Take off heat and add Fruity Pebbles to the marshmallow mixture. Stir until well combined.

2. Spray a casserole dish with Pam. Press mixture down in the pan firmly. Chill and serve.

IMG_3656

7 thoughts on “Fruity Pebble Peep Treats

  1. These look incredible (in an ‘I’m-going-to-bounce-off-the-walls-due-to-enumbers’ kinda way)
    We don’t get peeps or fruity pebbles in the UK, but I guess it could also work with rice crispies? Yum yum

Leave a Reply

