What’s for Dinner: Creamy Avocado Pasta (with Grilled Chicken Breast) and Roasted Broccoli and Cauliflower

IMG_3586

My fiance likes meat. I am a vegetarian. As with any union of an herbivore and a carnivore, there often comes the question: What’s for dinner??? I don’t mind cooking meat (I’m not one of those PETA people or anything like that), but I do like coming up with creative ways to make versatile dinners: easily vegetarian, easily meaty. It will, after all, be the rest of my life I’m dealing with this.

Pasta dishes are always an easy go-to. It takes hardly any effort at all to grill up a chicken breast, slice it, and serve on top of a delicious pasta that is filling enough for me without the meat. I like to go heavy on the vegetables anyway.

IMG_3584IMG_3580This is my favorite way to eat broccoli and cauliflower. Spray with Pam, toss with a little salt and your favorite seasonings, pop in a 400F oven, and you will be blessed with awe-inspiring veggies for dinner.

IMG_3577

Oh yeah. I really like this vegetable pasta from Hy-Vee. Packed with protein and supposedly containing one full serving of vegetables per serving of pasta…that works for me. Not to mention it’s delicious. Now for the Creamy Avocado Pasta recipe.

Creamy Avocado Pasta

INGREDIENTS:

Pasta
1 avocado
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 can of corn
salt and pepper
1/2 chopped onion

METHOD:

Boil pasta in water until tender. In a large bowl, mash avocado well. Mix in lemon juice and garlic. When measuring out the corn, keep some of the liquid, as it will add creaminess to the avocado sauce. Mix in corn (and liquid) and chopped onion. Add seasonings to taste. When the pasta is done, add it to the avocado mixture and stir. Serve with chicken or just plain.

One thought on “What’s for Dinner: Creamy Avocado Pasta (with Grilled Chicken Breast) and Roasted Broccoli and Cauliflower

Leave a Reply

