PB&J Breakfast Quinoa

IMG_3540I must have some sort of defect, because every once in a while I get in this PB&J sandwich obsession mode. In these obsession modes, I literally don’t want to eat anything but an old-fashioned, turn of the mill peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

But I am a grown woman. Yes, I know that I can have a kid sandwich for breakfast, but when I do I feel a little vacuous afterward. But not when I spice up the old classic a little, like with this PB&J Breakfast Quinoa!

Quinoa is probably one of the healthiest grains out there. It’s packed with protein and fiber, and is low in fat and calories. I’ll take that over two slices of empty-calorie bread any day!

IMG_3535Quinoa doesn’t take long to cook, and if you’ve had oatmeal the last four mornings, it’s a great way to mix things up. Typically served as a savory dish, I think people overlook it as a potential breakfast item, but it’s so heart-healthy and delicious that that’s a shame. It the perfect way to start your morning, especially when it captures the youthfulness of that great ole PB&J.

IMG_3543My favorite type of peanut butter is 365 crunchy from Whole Foods. For the full effect of this delicious breakfast porridge, USE CRUNCHY. The peanut pieces really add some magic. I also used fruit-packed strawberry jam.

Can I say ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS enough? I think not. And my PB&J craving is completely satisfied.

IMG_3541

Peanut Butter and Jelly Breakfast Quinoa

INGREDIENTS:

1/3 cup uncooked quinoa
2/3 cup water
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp oatmeal
1 tbsp milk
1 tsp agave
1 tbsp peanut butter
1 tbsp jelly or jam
strawberries and greek yogurt for garnish

METHOD:

1. Cook quinoa in water with salt until all liquid is evaporated. Quinoa should be fluffy and soft (if not, add more water and let cook until water is gone). While still on the heat, add milk, oatmeal, and agave. Stir until thick and fluffy.

2. Take off heat and stir in peanut butter and jelly. Garnish with strawberries and Greek yogurt. Enjoy!

IMG_3542

Leave a Reply

