Avocado Poppyseed Pancakes (with Oatmeal Flour)

IMG_3458I have about nine avocados sitting on my counter, quickly ripening, so I was trying to think of inventive ways to use the peculiar fruit. Since I’ve already made brownies, cake, and quick bread (not to mention it was only 9 a.m. when said mental conversation was happening) I thought: “Pancakes!” So why not give it a whirl?

IMG_3457 IMG_3456ย I was only planning on eating two, but they were really good. And I couldn’t stop…But luckily they were sweet enough to my taste that I ate them dry, right off the stack. Also, oatmeal has numerous health benefits, which is why I chose to make the base of this pancake oatmeal flour rather than wheat. And avocado is the good kind of fat, so I don’t have to feel sooo bad about over-indulging….right?

IMG_3454

Avocado Poppyseed Pancakes (with Oatmeal Flour)

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup oatmeal, finely processed
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp whole wheat flour
1 tsp poppyseeds
1/2 mashed avocado
1/2 cup milk
2 tbsp agave nectar
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg

METHOD:

1. Combine wet ingredients and mix well. Add dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

2. Heat griddle or pan to medium low. These pancakes do not bubble the way normal pancakes do, so be careful not to burn them.

IMG_3453

Leave a Reply

