Egg White Cinnamon French Toast (with Banana, Almond, and Date Yeast Bread)

IMG_3396IMG_3399I will never forget the day my 7th grade French teacher told my class that the French only eat French toast when they are sick. She said that over there the “mushy bread” isn’t a special-occasion breakfast dish but something easy to get down when you can’t get anything else down…

Eh, I still love it.

Besides, with my new working knowledge of food from all these great cooking shows I am addicted to on FoodNetwork (Cupcake Wars, Sweet Genius, Chopped, Restaurant Impossible, Worst Chef in America, etc. etc.) I have learned that the French equivalent to our French Toast is called “Pain Perdu” (pain is the French word for bread – it has nothing to do with our word pain. FALSE COGNATE), and is commonly enjoyed as a light dessert.

All this to say – YUM FRENCH TOAST IS THE BEST.

It used to be my favorite breakfast meal. Okay, I admit it; it still is. But I’ve found myself getting a little more experimental with this classic dish as the years go on. Remember this delicious Banana, Almond, and Date Yeast Breadย I made a couple days ago?ย Whilst experiencing an intense craving for French toast, my eye fell on the remnants (too scant considering it wasn’t long ago that I made it) and I had an epiphany. It would make the best French toast! And so it did.

IMG_3385IMG_3383My recipe, however, can be made with any sort of bread. I particularly enjoy sourdough French toast, but whole grain, Texas toast, or a sliced baguette would be equally yummy.

Cutting out the yolk in this recipe cuts out a large portion of fat and does not take away from the taste at all. So if you’re concerned about your fat intake, here’s your solution (however, remember that our bodies require a certain amount of fat to function, and the fat from eggs is a suitable fat to consume – better than butter or cheese or three pounds of Cheetos). I cut it mainly because eggs make me feel rather queasy, and eliminating the yolk seems to also eliminate that.

IMG_3398Egg White Cinnamon French Toast (with Banana, Almond, and Date Yeast Bread)

INGREDIENTS:

1 large egg white
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt
pinch of nutmeg
larger pinch of cinnamon
1 tsp agave nectar (optional)
4 or 5 slices of bread

METHOD:

1. Whip egg white with whisk. Add milk and vanilla and continue to whip. When well blended, add in salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, and agave.

2. Spray your pan with cooking spray and set heat to medium high. Soak bread in egg white mixture (not letting it get too soggy) and place on heated pan. After a minute or two, flip over and let the other side get golden brown.

3. Enjoy with strawberries, greek yogurt, and agave. Or peanut butter and jelly. Or bananas and pure maple syrup. The possibilities are endless.

 

IMG_3397

2 thoughts on “Egg White Cinnamon French Toast (with Banana, Almond, and Date Yeast Bread)

Leave a Reply

