What I’m Reading: The Wind in the Willows

IMG_3329I’m sure you’ve read or at least heard some of the tales from this delightful little book at some point in your life. A classic novel for children, The Wind in the Willows is more than just a bunch of talking animals – it is an ironic personification of the creatures of the wild, with deep and insightful moments, lovely imagery, and enough character for any wizened old adult.

IMG_3326My mom used to read The Wind and the Willows to my brother, sister, and I when we were younger, but I really didn’t remember the story at all. I found this charming copy of the story (part of the Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics Series, which includes some of the prettiest books in the world), complete with great illustrations and a beautiful leather cover, and decided to take it up again.

IMG_3336And boy am I glad I did! Before I came to the end of the first page I was invested in Mole’s adventure, and cheering him on as he erupted into the sunlight, despite his looming spring cleaning duties underground.

How can you not love this description?

“The Mole was bewitched, entranced, fascinated. By the side of the river he trotted as one trots, when very small, by the side of a man who holds one spell-bound by exciting stories; and when tired at last, he sat on the bank, while the river still chattered on to him, a babbling procession of the best stories in the world, sent from the heart of the earth to be told at last to the insatiable sea.”

Ahhhh. That’s the kind of flawless description I’m envious of.

There are soooo many more moments like this, where I just want to laugh and cry simultaneously because it’s so perfect – I can’t write them all out! So go, go. Go on down to your local bookstore and pick up this classic children’s novel. And don’t feel ashamed to be reading a book for kids – it is much more adult than you’d ever imagine.

IMG_3327

6 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: The Wind in the Willows

  1. I purchased The Wizard of Oz and Peter Pan for a couple of friends this Christmas. I love the Barnes and Nobles leather bound collection. My Chronicles of Narnia edition is the prettiest belle at the ball.

Leave a Reply

