Stuffed Summer Squash Boats

IMG_3228 IMG_3226Mmmmmm. I love the way fresh veggies look. I can’t wait until I have a garden of my own to harvest them from. I just can’t get enough of how colorful and lovely natural, God-made things can be.

I’m back in ice-land (AKA Iowa). Yes, it is still snowy here. Apparently Iowa does not recognize the officiality of the calendar, which says SPRING HAS BEGUN. Oh well. I will wait patiently to be warm again. My week-long reprieve in Texas was absolutely divine, complete with lots of sunshine and lazy mornings, but it’s time to get back to reality. Gotta say, it will be a tough transition for me this time.

One of my last days back home I made Stuffed Summer Squash Boats (yes SUMMER!) and they were well-recieved by my family. It’s a simple and healthy recipe that could easily become a main, meaty dish with some added pepperoni or sausage. Since I’m vegetarian, my family was denied this meatiness. Besides, the meat is definitely not necessary for this dish to be either filling or delicious. But I do know that some people are prejudiced against meat free foods (for some inconceivable reason) – if this is you, my suggestion stands.

IMG_3203IMG_3224 IMG_3225I think my favorite part about making this dish was chopping up the vegetables. Yellow, orange, red, green – it was the most colorful dinner imaginable! Even after the veggies had been sautéed down they still looked exceedingly vibrant.

IMG_3207IMG_3208IMG_3223IMG_3221

Stuffed Summer Squash Boats

INGREDIENTS:

3 summer squash
1 red bell pepper
Carrots
1/2 onion
1 clove garlic
Handful of fresh spinach
Olive oil for sautéing
Italian seasoning
Salt and pepper to taste
Fresh mozzarella
Marinara sauce

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Cut summer squash lengthwise then hollow out the insides. Spray baking sheet with Pam. Place summer squash on the prepared baking sheet. Chop the insides into small chunks to be sautéed. Chop onion, red pepper, carrots, and garlic. Sautéed all together in olive oil on medium-low heat until tender. Add chopped spinach. Season with Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper (or whatever seasonings you like best on sautéed veggies).

2. When veggies are done sautéing, scoop into hollowed out summer squash. Cover with marinara sauce and fresh mozzarella. Place baking sheet in 400F oven and bake until cheese is melted and bubbling (with a little gold on top).

3. Enjoy!

IMG_3220

Leave a Reply

