Peanut Butter and Jelly Chickpea Cookies

IMG_3173I really love peanut butter and jelly. This combination of flavors truly is the one of the most perfect I can think of. Sometimes, I get out my jar of all natural peanut butter (like my homemade peanut butter) and a jar of fruit-only jam and eat the two by the spoonful. SO GOOD. Of course, peanut butter pretty much goes with anything. My family is infamous for eating peanut butter and pickle sandwiches (if you haven’t tried this, DON’T JUDGE. You can’t know until you try it. It is fantastic). My papa loves peanut butter and onion sandwiches. I eat peanut butter on apples and bananas like it’s going out of style, and I have my fair share of peanut butter on carrots, celery, even on occasion oranges. Peanut butter ice cream, peanut butter glaze on stir fry, peanut butter on chocolate…

But where was I? Oh yeah. Peanut butter and jelly. I like the idea of peanut butter and jelly cookies. It captures two aspects of childhood, and with this rather unconventional cookie (chickpeas instead of flour and butter) we have a more mature, adult cookie with the remnants of those sticky-finger days.

IMG_3171Peanut Butter and Jelly Chickpea Cookies

INGREDIENTS:

1 can chickpeas
1 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup agave nectar
2 tbsp flax
1 egg
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
splash of vanilla
1/2 cup jam, jelly, preserves, marmalade or whatever strikes your fancy
1/2 cup oatmeal

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Rinse chickpeas well and boil until soft. In a food processor or blender, blend chickpeas, peanut butter, agave, flax, egg, baking soda and powder, salt, and vanilla. Mix in jelly and oatmeal.

2. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper. Form dough into balls and place on baking sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown and firm.

One thought on “Peanut Butter and Jelly Chickpea Cookies

Leave a Reply

