Avocado Sea Salt Brownies (Yes, More Avocado. Call me Obsessed)

IMG_3219Upon eating a bite of one of these brownies, my dad, and this is a direct quote, exclaimed: “These brownies are the best I’ve ever eaten! And I am a chocolate connoisseur.”

To be honest, only recently have I grown a taste for brownies. Growing up, I found rich chocolate desserts distasteful. Even now I prefer a fruity dessert to a so-rich-I’m-going-to-puke dessert. But as I have previously mentioned, there are a lot of people in my life who love chocolate, and I love baking, so I’ve learned distinguish between good brownies, great brownies, and phenomenal brownies. And these are phenomenal (according to my mom, my dad, and my fiancΓ©, at least).

IMG_3231Yes, there is avocado in them. Of course there is avocado. ALWAYS AVOCADO. I can’t help that I’m obsessed.

I’ve made these brownies a multitude of times, but this time I made a couple simple variations from my original recipe. At FRESH by Brookshires last week I found toasted carob powder and a jar of caramel made with honey (rather than the typical processed white sugar or corn syrup).

IMG_3182IMG_3193I’m always up for experimenting, so I decided to try at hand at these interesting ingredients in my beloved avocado brownies. If you don’t have these specialty items, that’s totally fine. The brownies are still delicious with the commonplace cocoa powder and no caramel filling.

IMG_3230Here’s some double boiling action. I like watching the steam pour out as the chocolate melts. And I love my little pan. I love little things.

IMG_3184Mashed avocado. So great. So pretty.

IMG_3191IMG_3192This is the first layer of brownie with the caramel sauce spread over top. I spread the rest of the batter on top of the caramel and then sprinkled it with sea salt.

IMG_3196IMG_3195

Avocado Sea Salt Brownies

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 medium avocados, mashed
8 ounces dark chocolate to melt
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup toasted carob powder (can be replaced with cocoa powder)
1/2 tsp baking powder
6 ounces chocolate chips (or however much you want)
caramel sauce for center layer (completely optional)
Sea Salt

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Melt chocolate chips by double boiling. Mash avocado and add to melting chocolate. Stir well. When completely melted, place in large bowl and mix in sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. Add flour, carob (or cocoa) powder, baking powder, and salt. Stir in chocolate chips.

2. If using caramel sauce, spread about half of the brownie batter in a pan lined with parchment paper. Cover with a thin layer of caramel sauce. Spread rest of brownie batter over top.

3. Bake in 350F oven for about an hour or until toothpick comes out clean (if you use a lot of extra chocolate chips, it will be hard to determine whether your brownie is done. If it is cracked on top and feels pretty sturdy, this is a good indicator).

Brownies are so easy to make and sooo goooood. This is chock full of chocolate so I can’t really call it healthy, but I like the thought that it has avocado in it. Makes me feel accomplished, and when unawares people hear what the secret ingredient is, their expressions are simply priceless. Hope you enjoy as much as my family did.IMG_3222

3 thoughts on “Avocado Sea Salt Brownies (Yes, More Avocado. Call me Obsessed)

Leave a Reply

