Avocado Chocolate Cake

There are a lot of men in my life who love chocolate. My dad, my brother, my fiancé… It’s ironic that it’s the men who are obsessed. Breaking stereotype.

All of that to say, I really do enjoy having an excuse to make decadent chocolate desserts as healthy as I possibly can while still impressing my chocolate-obsessed family. As long as it’s rich and tastes like chocolate, they don’t care if I sneak in heart healthy vegetables like avocado. IMG_3125

WHO NEEDS BUTTER WHEN WE HAVE AVOCADO?

This is a question I often ask myself when making chocolate desserts. I mean, I ask myself that question all the time, regardless of what type of dessert I am making. I hate butter. And there are so many suitable alternatives. But an added bonus to using avocado in chocolate desserts is that the chocolate not only disguises the color of the avocado, but any remnant of taste there could possibly be. Secret avocado. Yummyyyyyy.

IMG_3126 IMG_3124The avocado along with Greek yogurt makes this cake uber moist. Nothing is lost for flavor or experience without the butter, believe me.

CLICK HERE for the nutritional benefits of the lovely little avocado, then tell me you’re upset I replaced the butter in my cake.

IMG_3115

Avocado Chocolate Cake

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup whole wheat flour
2 cups all purpose flour
6 tbsp coco powder
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup mashed avocado
1/3 cup melted chocolate
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
2 tbsp white vinegar
vanilla
1 3/4  cup milk
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1 egg

For the frosting:

1/3 cup chocolate chips melted
1/4 cup mashed avocado
3/4 cup greek yogurt
1/4 cup nutella
1/3 cup powdered sugar

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 325F. Combine flours, cocoa powder, baking soda and powder, and salt. Measure out chocolate chips and melt by double boiling. Add in mashed avocado. When chips are completely melted, take off heat and put in separate bowl. Add sugar, vanilla, vinegar, milk, Greek yogurt, and egg. Blend with mixer until well blended. Should be very runny.

2. Add wet mixture to dry mixture and mix until well combined. Put mixture into a greased and floured cake pan (I used a bundt pan, but you could use two circle pans or a large sheet cake pan or whatever your heart desires).

3. Bake at 325F for 35 to 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

4. While your cake is baking, prepare the frosting. Melt chocolate chips by double boiling and add mashed avocado. In a separate bowl, mix greek yogurt and nutella. When chocolate is melted, add to yogurt mixture and blend until well-mixed. Add powdered sugar and blend again. Let thicken in fridge until cake is cooled and ready to frost.

5 thoughts on “Avocado Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

