Kringla: A Norwegian Sweet and a Throwback to my Childhood

IMG_2354The memory of my childhood is scattered with Kringla, a subtle Norwegian “cookie” that eats more like a sweet roll. My Grandma Kat used to buy them from Fareway, the local grocery store, but for some reason when I ate them as a kid I felt like I was stepping into my roots, somewhere long ago and far away in Norway (ha! That rhymed. I’m such a poet). Should I admit that the closest I ever got to the country of my ancestors was a sweet roll?

The combination of procrastination and missing my family compelled me to research how to make Kringla, just for kicks. I figured it would be a super difficult, secret-ingredient-ridden Norwegian recipe – because when I ate it as a kid I thought it was more delicious than anything, and something that delicious can’t be simple. I was wrong. To my delight I found that the recipe was easy as pie (actually baking a pie is much more difficult than Kringla. Easy as mixing glue, maybe?). With just a few common ingredients and a couple of my own modifications, I whipped up some of those delicious, reminiscent cookies quicker than it takes to run to the grocery store and back.

INGREDIENTS:

4 cups whole wheat flour (you can use all-purpose for a more traditional Kringla, but I like the heart healthy stuff)

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 egg

2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 1/2 cups Greek yogurt

METHOD:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Combine sugar, egg, and Greek yogurt together in a large bowl. Add flour, baking soda, and salt. Blend thoroughly. The mixture should be thick and pliable, like bread dough.

3. On a lightly floured surface, divide dough into manageable portions and roll into logs, about 1/2 an inch to an inch thick. Cut logs into strips about 6 inches long. Form these into figure eights (kind of like simple pretzels) and pinch the ends together. Place onto lined baking sheet.

4. Bake at 350F for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden brown.

These simple treats are almost guilt-free and perfect for an afternoon tea or quick morning snack. They aren’t super sweet, but that’s what I like about them.

One thought on “Kringla: A Norwegian Sweet and a Throwback to my Childhood

Leave a Reply

