It’s Okay to Judge a Nook By Its Cover

IMG_1744IMG_1745IMG_1743IMG_1728

I think my favorite thing about my nook is the homemade cover I fashioned for it out of my mother’s long lost fabric scraps. It was a simple and delightful process, and now my nook is a decorative item as well as a receptacle for electric novels. The front sports the quote by CS Lewis: “We read to know we are not alone,” and the inside Harper Lee’s quote: “Before I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.”

I really like my cover. As for the nook itself…It is a Nook Simpletouch with Glowlight; a pretty good investment, especially for travel or stupid reading assignments in college. However, I would never, I repeat NEVER convert completely to paperless. When I am reading my nook, I find myself distracted by my longing for a good, solid, old-fashioned book. There is something about the smell and the feel of the pages that transports me right into a comfortable reverie.

Even though I have over a hundred books stored on my nook, I can’t bear to buy any that I don’t already own. If I feel the compulsion to read something new, I just go out and buy the real thing. (More and more I hear people referring to the “real” thing as the e-book. My two cents? This is heresy.) No matter what anyone says, books will never go out of style for me. I have near a thousand books piled up in my room, and my collection grows by day. They say the nook is a space-saver, but I just treat it as any other book with a pretty cover.

Need a cover for your e-book? Contact me and I can whip you one right up!

Leave a Reply

